Institute of Medicine, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal

Institutional Review Committee (IRC)

Research Department

Institutional Review Committee (IRC) was established in 2004 in the Institute of Medicine as a helping hand to Research Department with the objective to conduct ethical review of the proposals submitted by the faculties and the students within the institute. The IOM-IRC consists of members from various departments within the institute. The role of the IRC is to review in advance all research proposals involving human subjects’ data, and to monitor the progress of projects that have been reviewed by the IRC.

The purpose of IRC review is to insure that the rights of human subjects are protected. The IRC is a committee whose primary responsible is to protect the right and welfare of research subjects and to function as a kind of ethics committee focusing on what is right or wrong and on what is desirable or undesirable. Thus the IRC is required to make judgments about individuals and groups ought to do and how they ought to do it.

The Institutional Review Committee of IOM evaluates the ethical aspects of research involving human subject. Hence, the mandate of the IRC is to monitor and review all research conducted by IOM faculty, students and staff that compiles and analyzes data gathered about human subjects. In addition, the IRC reviews research conducted by parties not affiliated with the Institute, but which uses IOM students, faculty or staff as research subjects.

Members of Institutional Review Committee (IRC) of IOM are as follows:

1. Prof. Dr Dwarika Shrestha : Chairperson
2. Prof. Dr Dinesh Kafle : Member
3. Prof. Dr Pabina Rayamajhi : Member
4. Asso. Prof. Dr. Arun Kumar Sharma : Member
5. Asso. Prof. Dr Anil Shrestha : Member
6. Asso. Prof. Dr. Krishna KC : Member
7. Asso. Prof. Dr. Bija Kumar Sharma : Member
8. Asso. Prof. Dr Muna Sharma : Member
9. Asso. Prof. Dr. Bikram Gajurel : Member
10. Asso. Prof. Dr. Gulsan Bahadur Shrestha : Member
11. Asso. Prof. Dr. Nayan Manandhar : Member
12. Asst. Prof. Dr. Durga Prasad Pahari : Member
13. Asst. Prof. Dr. Sunil Singh Thapa : Member
14. Asst. Prof. Dr. Prem Basel : Member
15. Asso. Prof. Dr. Manisha Chapagain : Member Secretary